American Legion Post 202 – Installation of Officers 2016-17 – Jun 2, 2016

It was a well attended program with a large number present in support of the 2016-17 Installation of Officers.

American Legion Post 202 - Installed Officers 2016-17

Robert Daniel-1st Vice; Michael Banks-2nd Vice; Thomas Smith-Service Officer; Nina Stephens-Chaplain; James Miles-Historian; James Williams-Adjutant; Darryl Pittman-Sgt At Arms


Scharma Holloway and Kennenth Joy

Scharma Holloway (incoming President, Ladies Auxiliary Unit 202) and Kenneth Joy (incoming Commander, American Legion Post 202)


Patricia Harris, Past NC District Commander

Also in attendance – Patricia Harris, Past District Commander of NC


George C. Cade and Elmer Floyd, NC House of Representative

Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award being presented to George C. Cade, Commander by Elmer Floyd, NC House of Representative


Let me tell you something this here is a gold nugget goldnugget (George C. Cade). A gold nugget you say “yes man” we found one right here. It came along then into this organization (American Legion Post 202) and we knew in an instant that it was the real deal.

For your enjoyment I’m going to do one more. Our rare gold nugget (George C. Cade) has always shone bright to enhance it’s brilliance.

Have you ever heard of the term “Order of the Long Leaf Pine” – some have already but I’m just learning about this term. Check this out…

Among the most prestigious awards conferred by the Governor of North Carolina is The Order of the Long Leaf Pine. It is awarded to persons for exemplary service to the State of North Carolina and their communities that is above and beyond the call of duty and which has made a significant impact and strengthened North Carolina.

The Order of the Long Leaf Pine is among the most prestigious awards presented by the Governor of North Carolina. The Order of the Long Leaf Pine is presented to individuals who have a proven record of extraordinary service to the state. Contributions to their communities, extra effort in their careers, and many years of service to their organizations are some of the guidelines by which recipients are selected for this award. The honor is most often presented when a person retires.

A state employee can be awarded The Order if the employee has contributed more than 30 years of dedicated and enthusiastic service to the state of North Carolina.

The Order is similar to honors bestowed in other states, such as the Kentucky colonel and South Carolina’s Order of the Palmetto. The Order began as a symbolic honor for visiting dignitaries, but later it became an honor for notable North Carolinians. Although sometimes called the state’s highest civilian honor in an order of precedence, that distinction legally belongs to the North Carolina Award. After the North Carolina Award and the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, the next award in order of precedence is the Old North State Award and then the Cardinal Award, all of which are bestowed by the Governor of North Carolina.

The first North Carolinians to receive the award was Governor Sanford’s good will representative to Spain, Mr. Martin, who was named in September, 1963.

The Order of the Long Leaf Pine may have been originally designed and intended to promote and generate interest in North Carolina with persons visiting the state, often in connection with meetings, conferences, conventions, public appearances or similar functions. They, and later recipients for which information is available, included executives of national and foreign corporations, elected government officials and agency heads, military officers, trade association representatives, religious leaders, educators, athletes, television and motion picture stars, and other persons of status and celebrity.

Among the recipients, you will find the familiar names of the following North Carolinians: Maya Angelou, Shirley Caesar, Charlie Daniels, Dale Earnhardt, John Hope Franklin, William “Bill” Friday, Roman Gabriel, Billy Graham, Andy Griffith, Jim “Catfish” Hunter, Junior Johnson, Michael Jordan, Alexander Julian, Fred Kirby, Ronnie Milsap, Hugh Morton, Gaylord Perry, Richard Petty, Earl Scruggs, General Henry Hugh Shelton, Enos Slaughter, Arthur Smith, Dean Smith, James “Bonecrusher” Smith, Bob Timberlake, Randy Travis, and Arthel L. “Doc” Watson. They are joined by such other notables as Harry Belafonte, Rod Carew, Shirley Chisolm, Joan Crawford, Phil Donahue, Gerald R Ford, John Glenn, Tipper Gore, Mia Hamm, Engelbert Humperdink, Jesse Jackson, George Jessel, George Jones, Jean Claude Killey, Coretta Scott King, Bess Myerson, Hal Needham, Leslie Neilson, Itzak Perlman, Gary Player, Sidney Poitier, Colin Powell, William H. Rehnquist, Kenny Rogers, Curtis Strange, The Blue Angels, Lanny Wadkins, Ted Williams, Tennessee Williams, Oprah Winfrey, Tammy Wynette and Andrew Young.

The Order of the Long Leaf Pine has not, however, been the exclusive domain of the  famous and influential. The pre-1983 records contain examples of the award being presented to businesses (fast food restaurants, grocery stores, pet stores, shopping malls, etc.), elementary school classes, and no doubt countless individuals with only a passing interest in North Carolina. In its early history, it also began to be conferred upon state employees (esp. law enforcement officers) presumably in recognition of their service or special accomplishment, and those state employees who, at the time of their retirement, had completed a certain minimum number of years of service to the State. The qualifications criteria for membership in The Order of the Long Leaf Pine are within the sole discretion of the sitting Governor and were not set forth in any of the records examined. However, it is clear that over time, the process for nominating and evaluating candidates became increasingly stringent, further solidifying its reputation as among the most prestigious awards presented by the Governor of North Carolina.

Again, congratulations George C. Cade for service performed and receipt of this prestigious award – that you are included on record with a selected few who are documented as being in receipt of this award – while serving as Commander, American Legion Post 202.

Order of the Long Leaf Pine

By amerleg202

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s